reelwords

Blood runs Slow

In Poetry on June 27, 2012 at 4:56 am

Drawing by Karen Dawson

Blood runs Slow- By Faisal Ansari

Dedicated to Johnny Cash and Bob Dylan.

Blood runs slow

In this life I know

Blood runs slow

I was lookin for Billy the Kid in New Mexico

I was 18,

Daddy said your joining the Marines-

get out the house! your poetry! your guitar!

and take your has been dreams!

-take all your six star strings

I only had a dime

When I was in my prime

Lost and lonely

I went lookin for my only

Dream

my only dream

my only dream on the other side of the line

Lookin into her eyes through her front porch screen

When I called her my soul was cryin

Blood runs slow

I took another blow

Blood runs slow

In this life I know

Slow down

One day you’ll know

Blood runs slow

In this life I know

Mr. Johnny Cash

And Mr. Bobby Dylan

I wasn’t the only villain they were killin

21

Writin poetry under the sun

Black wolves howlin

Never goin back

Hey sweet one

Won’t you love me back ?

34 years old

Daddy had a heart attack

It was too late to prove-

They took his soul and released him

When I was lookin into a dying man’s eyes

With blood in his eyes

With blood in my cries

Blood runs slow

With nothing to show

Empty and hollow

The hurt I couldn’t swallow

The burning blade

Upon his heart he made

Blood runs slow

In the empty songs of the crow

Blood runs slow

Someday we will know

Someday we will be whole

Take it slow take it slow

Blood runs slow

You will reap what you sow

So they say

In this life we know

He took a gun to his head

Blood runs slow

If you pull the trigger

Your dead

Take is slow

Get to know

Sooth your soul

Blood runs slow

In this life I know

Blood runs slow

Blood runs slow.

copyright © 2012 Faisal Ansari

  1. This is so powerful. Amazing job. You need to submit this one!

  2. Hmm… You may really dislike my feedback on this one… Don’t get me wrong, I really like it (at first reading it was my favorite) but it feels as though you were trying to come off in a voice as one of the men you dedicated it to instead of your own.
    We have had our time with Cash and Mr. Zimmerman is still around. I’d rather read an original F. Ansari.
    Do you know what I mean?

Leave a Reply

